Excellence and being Aboriginal go hand in hand

8 Responses

  1. You have just given me the shot in the arm I need…thanks Chris…mantr for 2012…excellence and being aboirginal go hand in hand

  2. Chris
    I remember a saying we had when we were urban Murri kids growing up in Rockhampton, “if white man tells you you listen” meaning of course that an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person can’t possibly be as knowledgable as a white person. I didn’t fully realise the implications of what we were saying until later in life. We have a real challenge to build a strong sense of self belief in our children and our communities.

  3. Chris,
    Would you be interested in being a presenter at the national gifted education conference this July?
    13th National Conference on Giftedness
    Adelaide July 12th – 14th 2012
    “Excellence and Equity for all”
    Call for papers is now out
    For more information go to
    http://www.sapmea.asn.au/gat2012

  4. Hi Chris
    My name is Craig from Cape Town, South Africa, and I work with promoting the beauty and wisdom of our indigenous cultures, specifically the AmaXhosa and AmaZulu, through language and culture lessons predominantly for adults, but increasingly for kids. I just wanted to say that your work looks excellent, and of huge value and importance, so do keep it up! Im coming to Australia in few days time, and thus have been following some links I got from Marg James in Alice Springs who works with using songs to improve Aboriginal literacy. Its good to see the work being done, and interesting that its such a universal issue amongst indigenous cultures! Blessings!

  5. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. All the best

  6. Reblogged this on elketeaches and commented:
    Change the stereotype now!

  7. You are so right; being Aboriginal is the first most important part then to be good/ do your best at what you do will follow! Thank you MS

  8. Hi Chris
    Thank you for sharing this story.
    I work for the Koorie Unit, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Victoria. I’m developing a blog to encourage sharing and discussion between schools and within schools on ways to support Indigenous students in need of extra support in literacy and numeracy. The blog is not public yet – I’m still learning the functionality and I want it to develop it further before doing so.
    I would like to use your post as I think it goes to the heart of the issue of Indigenous educational achievement… I notice that other users have incorporated the clip into their blog. As a new blogger, I’m unfamiliar with the protocol so I thought it best to ask you if I could do the same? If you would like to see the blog, I can send you the address and the password (as it is still in development). I can be contacted by email at; juriansz.clyde.h@edumail.vic.gov.au
    Regards
    Clyde Juriansz

Leave a Reply

